physics

Isaacson’s biography of Einstein

I read Walter Isaacson’s biography of Einstein.  I found it to be very enjoyable.  Mostly it flowed very well, and had enough details that I could look deeper in other works and know what to expect.  I have been motivated to read some of the philosophers that Einstein read: Kant, Hume, Mach, and Spinoza (most of those links point to fully readable books online).

One thing I was disappointed to find: there wasn’t much actual science in the book.  I guess I’ll read Pais’ book for that.  I shouldn’t have been too surprised to find this was the case, after all it was a best seller on the New York Times list.

Thanks for the book, Mike.  I really liked it!

Standard

Leave a Reply

