physics

PSTricks, anyone?

I suppose I had heard of it before.  I’ve been using LaTeX for over a decade now. I’ve always been annoyed when the figures in professional journals didn’t match the professional looking text.  Instead, they look like crap.  Usually they’re bitmaps.

Lately I’ve been trying to typeset my homework.  I’m already pretty fast at it, so it wasn’t a big deal.  But, I wanted to add figures sometimes.  I was using InkScape, which is great.  But, it’s pretty hard to get LaTeX text in the figure, like n_1, or something.  I tried to get textext to work, but have so far been unsuccessful.  So, I bumped in to PSTricks.  InkScape can export PSTricks code, but the text you put in your drawing isn’t really text, it’s line segments and stuff.  Ridiculous!  I found a couple of other editors: LaTeXDraw and jPicEdt.  I think I like LaTeXDraw better, but they are both rather limited.  Good enough for line drawings.

PGF/TikZ is a competing package to PSTricks, but I haven’t tried it yet.

A feature I have yet to explore is the plotting of data features in PSTricks.  Someday….

Here is a figure I made:

Standard

One thought on “PSTricks, anyone?

  1. Pingback: PGF/Tikz and the USGS (random and unrelated, I know…) « justing’s blog

Leave a Reply

