for the family

living vs visiting, and our apartment

The day before I left for Geneva, two weeks ago today, I had barely thought of what I would do while I was there.  Clearly this wasn’t a vacation.  This would be the first time I’d seen Alessandra (live, in person!) in over a month.  That pretty much sums up my expectations.

Luckily for us it’s easy to make such a visit into much more than that.  Ali had moved into our new apartment just the weekend before I arrived, and so there was lots of setting up to do.  The trip, quite happily, turned out to be more like living there than just going for a visit, and that is one of the things that made it so special.

Looks like we just moved in, huh?

We did a number of fun things (hiking, seeing the old city in Geneva, going to market), which I’ll talk more about later.  But we also did a bunch of important moving/couple things like buying clothes hangers and getting the internet set up.  We lounged around while watching the paralympics, in French.  It was great!  I went to work at CERN and got my ID badge and office keys and worked in my new office.  We rode the bus a lot.

Even though it was just an eleven day visit, I participated in enough chores and actually accomplished things in French (“un baguette, s’il vous plait”, I didn’t speak any French last week!), that I felt more like I was living there than just visiting.  And I definitely wasn’t vacationing!

A couple of more photos from the neighborhood:

The Jura from our front yard.

The Main Drag, Rue de Gex, in Maconnex, France.

I miss turning on the tv to a whole different language, heck, I don’t even turn on the tv here.  There must have been terror in my eyes when I went to ask the bus driver “deux pour Cornovan, s’il vous plait”, and I kind of miss that too.  It was adventure in everyday life.  I’m very excited to be going back in about two months!

Standard

One thought on “living vs visiting, and our apartment

  1. Pingback: Spring Break in Geneva « justing's blog

Leave a Reply

